The Turkish National Educational System is composed of two main sections; formal and non-formal education. Formal Education means the school system and thus includes the higher education which will be the focus of this guide. Non- formal education includes all the activities organized outside or alongside the school.

The formal education includes:
PRE-SCHOOL EDUCATION: Optional education held in kindergartens and such, up to 6 years of age.
PRIMARY EDUCATION: Compulsory for eight years, 6-14 years of age.
SECONDARY EDUCATION: High School or vocational High School, 15-17/18 years of age.
HIGHER EDUCATION: This category includes all educational institutions which will provide post- secondary education.