Education System in Singapore

Singapore Higher Education Institutions can be categorized into public and non-public institutions or organizations. The public sector offers a comprehensive range of post-secondary education and training opportunities. Different options are available to students depending upon their qualifications. These options can be divided into three types: the universities, the polytechnics, and the technical training institute.

The three universities, National University of Singapore, Nanyang Technological University & Singapore Management University, requires the highest level of qualifications by students. The universities primarily offer full-time degree programs and a few select diploma and post-graduate diploma courses.

Four polytechnics (Nanyang Polytechnic, Ngee Ann Polytechnic, Singapore Polytechnic, and Temasek Polytechnic) provide a wide range of full-time and part-time programs leading to diploma, advanced diploma, and certificate qualifications. The focus of the polytechnics is on the education and training of middle-level and supervisory personnel to support the technological, economic and social development of Singapore. Each polytechnic offers programs in engineering, technology, and business studies.

The non-public sector of higher education includes a diverse set of private institutions, professional organizations, and quasi-governmental bodies. These institutions offer diploma, advanced diploma, and/or certificate programs in business and technical fields of study. The qualifications are awarded in the name of the organization. With one exception, no degrees are conferred directly by these organizations.

Private institutions provide a wide range of educational opportunities, including correspondence and tutoring schools, as well as diploma and certificate programs. In addition, some private organizations serve as program facilitators for UK and Australian universities. These organizations co-ordinate the teaching and tutoring required for degree programs offered by foreign universities. Students receive degrees conferred by the university and not by the local organization. The Finnish education system is composed of nine-year basic education (comprehensive school), preceded by one year of voluntary pre-primary education; upper secondary education, comprising vocational and general education; and higher education, provided by universities and polytechnics. Adult education is available at all levels.